Print Page | Sign In

Chicago Wilderness Executive Council

The Chicago Wilderness Executive Council discusses issues of common interest across member organizations, and advises and approves strategies and workplan elements to meet our common goal to preserve, improve, and expand nature and quality of life throughout the region.  Meetings are open to all Chicago Wilderness members.

Chair: Elizabeth S. Kessler, McHenry County Conservation District

James J. Jerozal, Jr., Nicor Gas

 Mike Glester, Cardno

Executive Secretary: Nathanael J. Pilla, Orbis Environmental Consulting

At-Large Members of the 2020 Steering Committee
Gerald Adelmann, Openlands
Jim Anderson, Lake County Forest Preserves
Michelle Carr, The Nature Conservancy
Leslie Dorthwort, IL-IN SeaGrant
Cathy Geraghty, Forest Preserve District of Cook County
Alison Paul, The Field Museum
John Rogner, Illinois Department of Natural Resources
David Shimberg, Riverwoods Preservation Council
Daniel Suarez, Audubon Great Lakes

Audubon Great Lakes

Daniel Suarez, Nat Miller

Brushwood Center at Ryerson Woods
Catherine Game

Center for Humans and Nature
Brooke Hecht, Gavin Van Horn, Anja Claus

The Chicago Academy of Sciences and its Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum
Deborah Lahey, Allen Lawrance

Chicago Botanic Garden
Greg Mueller, Bob Kirschner

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
Jason Navota, Nora Beck

Chicago Park District
Amaris Alanis Ribero, Matthew Freer, Cathy Breitenbach

Chicago Wilderness Corporate Council
Sara Race, Chair

Chicago Zoological Society/Brookfield Zoo
Stuart Strahl, Sarah Breen-Bartecki

DePaul University, Environmental Science Program
Liam Heneghan, Barbara Willard

The Field Museum
Mark Bouman, Doug Stotz, Abigail Derby Lewis, Debby Moskovits, Alison Paul

Forest Preserves of Cook County
Arnold Randall, Cathy Geraghty, Michelle Uting

Forest Preserve District of DuPage County
Erik Neidy

Forest Preserve District of Kane County
Monica Meyers, Ben Habertheur

Forest Preserve District of Will County
Ralph Schultz

Dennis Dreher

Hey and Associates
Jeff Mengler

Illinois Department of Natural Resources
John Rogner

Illinois Natural History Survey
Brian Anderson, Thomas Benson 

Illinois Nature Preserves Commission
Steven Byers

Kendall County Forest Preserve District
Jason Pettit, Megan Andrews

Lake County Forest Preserves (IL)
Jim Anderson

Liberty Prairie Foundation
Brad Leibov

McHenry County Conservation District
Elizabeth S. Kessler, Ed Collins, Laurie Ryan, Jackie Bero

McHenry County Conservation Foundation
Brad Semel, Kevin Ivers, Shawna Flavell

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago
Allison Fore

The Morton Arboretum
Gerard Donnelly, Nicole Cavender, Lydia Scott

National Parks Conservation Association
Lynn McClure, LeAaron Foley

Nicor Gas
Jim J. Jerozal

The Nature Conservancy – Illinois
Michelle Carr, Susan Donovan, John Legge, Bob Moseley,

Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission
Ty Warner, Kathy Luther

Gerald Adelmann

Orbis Environmental Consulting
Nathanael J. Pilla

Riverwoods Preservation Council
David Shimberg

Shirley Heinze Land Trust
Kristopher Krouse

Sierra Club, Illinois Chapter
Jack Darin, Cindy Skrukrud, Katrina Phillips

University of Illinois at Chicago
David Wise, Mary Ashley, Joel Brown, Henry Howe

US Army Corps of Engineers
Lynne Whelan

US Department of Energy, Argonne National Laboratory
John Krummel, Casey Sullivan

USDA Forest Service
Lynne W. Westphal, PhD, Cherie L. Fisher

US Fish and Wildlife Service

Louise Clemency, Shawn Cirton, Kris Lah

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
Rand Briggs, Don McCallon

USDI National Park Service/Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore
Paul Labovitz, Lynda Lancaster, Kimberly Swift

The Wetlands Initiative
Paul Botts

Honorary Members
Laurel Ross, Former Chicago Wilderness Chair

In Memory - George Rabb, President Emeritus, Chicago Zoological Society/Brookfield Zoo
In Memory - Dale Engquist, Former Chicago Wilderness Trust President
In Memory - Judy Beck, Environmental Protection Agency