Conservation and Native Landscaping Awards Ceremony, 12/11

Chicago Wilderness and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency – Great Lakes National Program Office invite you to attend the annual Conservation and Native Landscaping Awards ceremony on December 11 from 1:00-3:00 pm at the Chicago Botanic Garden.

“The Conservation and Native Landscaping Awards celebrate the critical work of diverse organizations to enhance the health of nature in our region,” said Melinda Pruett-Jones, Executive Director of Chicago Wilderness.

The awards recognize park districts, forest preserve districts, nonprofit organizations, local governments and corporations for exemplary use of natural landscaping, ecological restoration, and conservation design. These practices create and protect habitat for a variety of native plant and animal species and result in important environmental benefits for both people and nature.

The winners will be recognized on December 11, 2012, at the Chicago Botanic Garden’s Regenstein Center’s Alsdorf Auditorium. The two-hour award ceremony is open to the public.  It will begin at 1pm and be followed by a 30-minute reception. Attendees should register online by Monday, December 3, 2012.

The award recipients for outstanding conservation, native landscaping and sustainable design projects during 2012 are (project name, project manager):

  • Gaslight Park Bird and Butterfly Sanctuary, Village of Algonquin
  • Nature Trails, Chicago Academy of Sciences/Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum
  • Henry Palmisano Park, Chicago Park District
  • Sherman Park Lagoon Restoration, Chicago Park District
  • Bergman Slough Land and Water Reserve, Forest Preserve District of Cook County
  • McMahon Fen Nature Preserve, Forest Preserve District of Cook County
  • Iroquois Sands, Friends of the Kankakee
  • Heatherwood Estates Pond, Heatherwood Estates Homeowners Association
  • Red Mill Park Great Lakes Ecosystem Restoration, LaPorte County Parks
  • Nature Boardwalk at Lincoln Park Zoo, Lincoln Park Zoo
  • Loyola Academy Wetland Restoration, Loyola Academy
  • Naper Settlement Stormwater Management Improvements, City of Naperville
  • Niles Community Rain Garden and Prairie Plant Project, Village of Niles
  • Olde Schaumburg Center Parking Lot, Village of Schaumburg

Certificate of Merit Recipient:

  • Empowerment through Education and Exposure

The program is supported in part by the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>