Print Page   |   Sign In

Thank You Legacy Partners

Special thanks to our Legacy Partners for supporting Chicago Wilderness:

Forest Preserves of Cook County: The Forest Preserves of Cook County, with more than 69,000-acres, is the largest forest preserve district in the United States. Its mission is to acquire, restore and manage lands for the purpose of protecting and preserving public open space in a natural state for the education, pleasure and recreation of the public now and in the future.

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRD): MWRD protects the health and safety of the public in its service area, protects the quality of the water supply source (Lake Michigan), improves the quality of water in watercourses in its service area, protects businesses and homes from flood damages, and manages water as a vital resource for its service area. 

Chicago Wilderness Executive Council

The Chicago Wilderness Executive Council discusses issues of common interest across member organizations, and advises and approves strategies and workplan elements to meet our common goal to preserve, improve, and expand nature and quality of life throughout the region.  Meetings are open to all Chicago Wilderness members.


Chair: Arnold Randall, Forest Preserve District of Cook County
Vice-Chair: Elizabeth S. Kessler, Executive Director of McHenry County Conservation District
President, Chicago Wilderness Trust: Peter Layton, The Tallgrass Group, LLC
Ex Officio: Suzanne Malec-McKenna, Executive Director, Chicago Wilderness

Audubon Great Lakes
Nat Miller, Rebeccah Sanders

Brushwood Center at Ryerson Woods

Center for Humans and Nature
Brooke Hecht, Gavin Van Horn, Anja Claus

The Chicago Academy of Sciences and its Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum
Deborah Lahey, Allen Lawrance

Chicago Botanic Garden
Greg Mueller, Bob Kirschner

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
Jason Navota, Nora Beck

Chicago Park District
Cathy Breitenbach, Byron Tsang

Chicago Wilderness Corporate Council
James Jerozal, Chair

Chicago Wilderness Trust
Peter Layton, President

Chicago Zoological Society/Brookfield Zoo
Stuart Strahl

DePaul University, Environmental Science Program
Liam Heneghan, Barbara Willard

The Field Museum
Mark Bouman, Doug Stotz

Forest Preserves of Cook County
Arnold Randall, Cathy Geraghty

Forest Preserve District of DuPage County
Erik Neidy

Forest Preserve District of Kane County
Monica Meyers

Forest Preserve District of Will County
Ralph Schultz

Dennis Dreher

Hey and Associates
Jeff Mengler

Illinois Department of Natural Resources
Jim Herkert, Lynn Boerman, Nancy Williamson

Illinois Natural History Survey
Brian Anderson, Thomas Benson 

Illinois Nature Preserves Commission
Steven Byers

Kendall County Forest Preserve District
Jason Pettit, Megan Andrews

Lake County Forest Preserves (IL)
Jim Anderson

Liberty Prairie Foundation
Brad Leibov

McHenry County Conservation District
Elizabeth Kessler, Kevin Ivers

McHenry County Conservation Foundation
Nancy Williamson, Yvonne Semel

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago
David St. Pierre, Allison Fore, Manju Sharma

The Morton Arboretum
Gerard Donnelly, Nicole Cavender, Lydia Scott

National Parks Conservation Association
Lynn McClure, LeAaron Foley

Nicor Gas
Jim Jerozal

The Nature Conservancy – Illinois
Bob Moseley, Susan Donovan, Michelle Carr, John Legge

Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission
Ty Warner, Kathy Luther

Gerald Adelmann, Lenore Beyer-Clow

Shirley Heinze Land Trust
Kristopher Krouse, Dale Engquist

Sierra Club, Illinois Chapter
Jack Darin, Cindy Skrukrud, Katrina Phillips

University of Illinois at Chicago
David Wise, Mary Ashley, Joel Brown, Henry Howe

US Army Corps of Engineers
Lynne Whelan

US Department of Energy, Argonne National Laboratory
John Krummel, Casey Sullivan

US Fish and Wildlife Service
Louise Clemency, Shawn Cirton, Kris Lah, John Rogner

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
Rand Briggs, Don McCallon

USDI National Park Service/Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore
Paul Labovitz, Lynda Lancaster, Kimberly Swift

The Wetlands Initiative
Paul Botts

Honorary Members
George Rabb, President Emeritus, Chicago Zoological Society/Brookfield Zoo
Laurel Ross, Former Chicago Wilderness Chair
Dale Engquist, Former Chicago Wilderness Trust President